Posted in Trader Joe's foods

Trader Joe’s Hatch Chile Mac & Cheese

Once again the sample section of TJ’s sucked me in. Most of the time the samples are something I’ve already tried but Tj’s Hatch Chile Mac & Cheese was new to me. This product first arrived February 2016 according the Fearless Flyer, somehow I’ve missed it the past few months.

I’ve had the regular TJ’s Mac & Cheese many times, I try to keep one in my freezer when I need a non vegetable side dish with dinner or when I have a mac & cheese craving emergency.

The hatch chile mixed with the mac & cheese is a fantastic match. The hatch chilies add more flavor than they do heat, at least my box did. I’m sure some boxes may be hotter than others due to different batches of chilies.  The chilies and the cheddar blend incredibly well and leave you with the classic mac and cheese flavor but with an extra flavor sensation of chile. This is definitely a great dish to have with most any meal. It lends itself to taco Tuesday and even pot roast Sunday.

boxwithfrozenCU
When it comes to cooking frozen mac & cheese I always prefer the oven to the microwave. If I’m running short on time I’ll start it in the microwave for a minute then move it to the oven. The box says heat at 375 degrees for 25-35 minutes. I’ve found it’s better to keep it in around 45-50 minutes. Below you will see in the photos how the extra time is worth it in the end.

after30minutes
After 35 minutes

after50minutes
After 50 minutes

after50minutsCU

Ingredients: Cooked Elbow Macaroni (Water, Enriched Semolina [Durum Wheat Semolina, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid]), Milk, Cheddar Cheese (Pasteurized Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Microbial Rennet, Annatto [Color]), Roasted Hatch Chile Peppers, Unbleached Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Butter (Pasteurized Cream, Salt, Annatto [Color]), Salt, Modified Rice Starch, Spices. CONTAINS WHEAT, MILK.

backofbox

Leave a Reply

