Posted in Trader Joe's foods

Trader Joe’s Ts & Js Sour Gummies

useforfrontI’m a child of the 80’s and I ate a lot of candy and watched a lot of TV (Nickelodeon, mostly). Heck, my parents would give me money to go to the gas station or store down the street to buy candy with friends. Oh, I miss those summers. My go to favorites were always banana flavored Laffy Taffy and WarHeads. It was so much fun to see who could keep the super sour WarHeads in their mouth the longest. I’m proud to say I usually won.

Now, as an adult I still eat a lot of candy and watch a lot of TV. BUT my taste in candy has changed. Except for the fact artificial banana flavor is still my favorite  flavor.

The TJ’s Sour Gummies came out in May of 2015, almost exactly a year to the day I’m writing this review. The 1st time I tried these I was very surprised they actually tasted like real fruit, not the artificial versions of fruit. Turns out their colors  are derived from real fruits and vegetables! There are four flavors: Key Lime, Tangerine, Meyer Lemon and Grapefruit. The grapefruit (red ones) are my favorite. They are not quite as tart as the others. The lemon and lime are hard to tell the difference between because their coloring is so close. You really have to look for that hint of green to know you have a lime flavored one. They are soft and have that oh so great sour sugar coating. They are tart, but not too tart you can’t handle eating more than one at a time.  The bag is resealable, which I like and I find they stay fresh for a long time. I found an open bag in the back of my pantry that had been there for a while and they were still yummy!

lines

 

The TJ’s web page says they are made in Utah by a famous candy maker. They are gluten free, kosher, fat free, and low in sodium. They are also full of yummy yummy sugars.

back

 

 

Ingredients: Cane Sugar, Tapioca Syrup, Modified Corn Starch, Dextrose (Corn), Malic Acid, Natural Flavors (Key Lime, Meyer Lemon, Tangerine and Grapefruit), Citric Acid, Colored with Fruit and Vegetable Extracts (Pumpkin, Carrot, Black Currant), Sodium Citrate, Spirulina Extract (Color), Palm Oil. MANUFACTURED IN A FACILITY THAT PROCESSES PEANUTS AND TREE NUTS.

Leave a Reply

