Posted in Trader Joe's foods

Trader Joe’s Mango Jicama Slaw

IMG_1104 2Mango, mango we love the mango! I feel like that is the mantra at Trader Joe’s headquarters right now. So much mango this summer. Also, a risky fruit to push to the masses who can be scared by anything new they have never tried. I recently had friends over for a BBQ and grabbed the TJ’s Mango Jicama Slaw as a side dish to go with my yummy ribs. The ribs and the slaw were a big hit. Read more…

I’m a southern girl and as an L.A. transplant I’ve had to make sacrifices in the southern food world. I mean there are no Cracker Barrels in this state! Sometimes a girl needs her sweet tea and chicken n’ dumplings. One of the biggest changes I’ve had to get used to is the slaw here is made with a vinegar base and not the oh so unhealthy mayo base. You can take the girl out of the south but you can’t take the south out of the girl.

I have made my own coleslaw from TJ’s shredded cabbage but that recipe is for another day. On days that I am using my smoker for ribs or pork shoulder it’s almost a 10hr day constantly checking the temperature and spritzing with apple juice. I don’t have a lot of time to prep side dishes. I miss Publix in the south, they had the best ready made side dishes. Anyways, that is what brought me to pick up the TJ’s Jicama Slaw because it’s something that I could toss in a bowl quickly.

IMG_1108 2I knew it was yummy because the week before the slaw was at the sample station. My sample was great, a little spicy but loved the crunch and flavors.

There is only one thing you should know about the dressing, it is very spicy. If you get a red pepper flake you feel the burn. Test the dressing before you add it to see if you like the level of spice. If spicy food is not your thing substitute the dressing with olive oil, vinegar, and lime juice, or TJ’s Champagne Pear Vinaigrette.

Overall this is a great side dish for this summer, give jicama and mango a chance. You might just find something new you love.

IMG_1105 2Mango, Jicama, Green Cabbage, Lime Mango Vinaigrette (Water, Sugar, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Mango, Rice Vinegar, Distilled Vinegar, Lime Juice Concentrate, Ginger Puree, Sea Salt, Crushed Red Pepper, Garlic [Water, Garlic], Lemongrass [Lemongrass, Water, Xanthan Gum, Citric Acid], Cornstarch, Xanthan Gum), Cilantro.

Leave a Reply

