Posted in Trader Joe's foods

Trader Joe’s PB&J Bar (Gluten Free)

FullSizeRender 16The whimsical drawing on the box says it all, Peanut Butter + Jelly = Yummy. TJ’s has created a soft oat breakfast bar with peanut butter and strawberry filling .  You can find these in the breakfast section of your local store. 

Finally, something new that is not mango flavored! I found these when I went to pick up a new box of TJ’s Organic Frosted Toaster Pastries and noticed this new item. So, instead of my usual breakfast purchase I decided to try something new!

I don’t know why they can’t use grape in anything PB&J. It’s always raspberry or strawberry, which I never use when making my own PJ&J. The box contains 6 bars but because the bars are pretty small you really have to eat 2 to get you through the morning. They are 150 calories each so beware 2 bars are 300 calories. I think I will stick to the Frosted Toaster Pastries. They may have 100 more calories in the package of two, but at least I fill full after eating only one from a package.

FullSizeRender 10

These are however a nice change up from my usual breakfast. They kind of taste like a soft nutter butter cookie with a hint of strawberry. They are pretty good but I don’t get the over whelming PB&J flavor I had hoped for when I bought them. These are great on the go, they don’t make many crumbs, plus it only takes a few bites to eat the whole thing. I’m going to take these in to work and have them as an afternoon pick me up snack. These are worth a try!

FullSizeRender 8Ingredients: Strawberry filling:sugar, cane syrup, glycerin, water, tapioca starch, natural flavor, strawberries, apple powder, pectin, citric acid, locust bean gum, color (red cabbage extract, annatto color). Crust: oats, peanut butter (peanuts), oat flower, invert sugar, brown rice syrup, canola oil, rice flour, glycerin, peanut flour, water, tapioca starch, natural flavor, baking soda, sea salt.

 

Leave a Reply

